Welcome!

Hello and Welcome!

My name is Jo-Maree Courtney. I’m a scientist with a PhD in Developmental Biology. I love Photoshop and I’m interested in the principles of design, especially when applied to scientific imaging.

Photoshop has become an essential tool for scientists who use it to take raw image data from their microscopes, cameras and other sources and present them in a way that makes their results understandable. I love learning about Photoshop and during the course of my PhD spent a lot of time learning the tricks and tips that would allow me to produce consistent and visually appealing images with minimum of time and while maintaining scientific integrity. However I soon realised that not all my fellow students shared my enthusiasm for the software. In fact I seemed to be in a minority of one.

Once the other students and researchers in the department realised I knew my way around Photoshop they started coming to me for advice. Informal advice sessions soon turned into organised tutorials which developed into a series of regular courses. Now this blog is a way of taking my courses to a wider audience.

If you work in research science – whether as a technician, graduate student, post-doc or senior researcher – I hope you will find something useful here.

Over the coming months I will be building up a number of courses covering different aspects of using Adobe Photoshop for scientific imaging. I will also discuss the issues that need to be considered to maintain integrity of your data and optimising your time while creating visually appealing and professional images.

If you ever have any specific requests or problems please feel free to leave a comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

5 Comments on “Welcome!”

  1. Mona says:

    well done and good luck joe………we just behind you 🙂

  2. As someone who teaches Photoshop to users with a variety of interests I have been mulling over ways to broaden my classes to be more appealing to students outside of graphic design. In that light your blog topic is particularly appealing. I look forward to reading more as you add to it.

  3. Evgeniy says:

    Just Googled ‘photoshop for science’ and found your blog. That’s a great idea you have, I look forward to your posts. I became interested in scientific application of Photoshop after I read a Nature article [1] that has Photoshop mentioned in methods: ‘Photoshop adjustment involved only image exposure using adjustment levels.’


Leave a Reply

